Have you seen me before?

My friend E. and I went to the Whitechapel gallery to join a curator-led tour of the fourth and final part of the Turin-based private collection of Patrizia Sandretto Re Rebaudengo “Have you seen me before?”.

The single-room exhibition brought together contemporary artists including Anish Kapoor and some artists I saw in Venice like Fischli & Weiss and Rudolf Stingel. The theme of the room was the idea of the absurd, but even accepting that I found it difficult to find a common thread between a yellow polar bear with feathers and a sound art piece (see link for more details on the display).

I wondered if the collector accumulated works based solely on personal whim or if she followed some themes in constituting her collection. In other words, was the four part presentation something constructed after the fact or were the themes pre-existent and the basis of her collection?

I am not fortunate enough to collect art (the closest I get is a collection of museum tickets) but if I did, I think I would just buy art I like, which would result in a variety in styles in my collection. How about you?

20130917-064941.jpgHave you seen me before? (2008) by Paola Pivi, Whitechapel Gallery

Leave a Reply

